Greyhound Racing
It’s More Exciting When The Stakes Are Higher

Win big during the high stakes races at Southland Park.

Stakes races are special races with enhanced prize money designed to attract the best of the best to race against one another. Southland Park has a long-standing tradition of stakes racing including the Southland Derby, one of the oldest stakes events in the entire country. 
 
See below for our list of stakes events for 2017, including dates for all the qualifying rounds and championships. For a historical perspective, check on the past winners of each one of our stakes races.

2017 Stakes Races Schedule:
 *All stakes races subject to change.                                                   

IRONDOG CHALLENGE
$20,000       
Prelims: Wednesday, February 1
Round 1: Sunday, February 5
Round 2: Saturday, February 11
Round 3: Friday, February 17
Championship: Friday, February 24


HOUND MADNESS
$25,000 
Round 1: Sunday, March 5
Round 2: Saturday, March 11
Round 3: Friday, March 17
Round 4: Wednesday, March 22
Round 5: Sunday, March 26
Championship: Friday, March 31
 
       
SPRING FUTURITY STAKES
$25,000
Round 1: Saturday, April 15
Round 2: Friday, April 21
Round 3: Wednesday, April 26
Round 4: Sunday, April 30
Championship: Saturday, May 6
 

RAZORBACK CLASSIC
$60,000
Round 1: Saturday, May 13
Round 2: Friday, May 19
Round 3: Wednesday, May 24
Round 4: Monday, May 29
Championship: Sunday, June 4
 

SOUTHLAND DERBY
$60,000
Round 1: Saturday, June 10
Round 2: Thursday, June 15
Round 3: Wednesday, June 21
Round 4: Sunday, June 25
Championship: Saturday, July 1
 

CHRIS M. CHANCE MEMORIAL
$5000                       
Prelims: Sunday, July 16
Championship: Saturday, July 22


ALL-STAR KENNEL CHALLENGE
$21,000
Round 1: Friday, August 11
Round 2: Wednesday, August 16
Round 3: Sunday, August 20
Round 4: Saturday, August 26
Championship: Friday, September 1

 
FESTIVAL OF STAKES
$1,290,000
“GROUP A” (Marathon & Super Marathon Divisions)
            Round 1: Saturday, September 9
            Round 2: Saturday, September 16
            Round 3: Saturday, September 23
            Round 4: Saturday, September 30

“GROUP B” (Male & Female Sprint, Arkansas Bred Sprint & Middle Distance Divisions)
            Round 1: Friday, September 15
            Round 1: Wednesday, September 20
            Round 1: Sunday, September 24
            Round 1: Saturday, September 30
 
 “GROUP C” (Super Sprint, Barry Baldwin Juvenile & Arkansas Bred Juvenile Divisions)
            Round 1: Sunday, September 17
            Round 1: Friday, September 22
            Round 1: Wednesday, September 27
            Round 1: Sunday, October 1

*All Championships and Consolation Races to be held on Saturday, October 7, 2017
 

BET AMERICA: KINGS vs. QUEENS CLASSIC
Top 4 Finishers in the Festival of Stakes
$10,000
Darby Henry Male & Female Sprint Championships, Plus One Wildcard Entry Face Off In A Single Race
                                     
Championship: Friday, October 13


TWO FOR THE MONEY
$25,000
A single dog must win TWICE in the Finals to be crowned the Champion

Round 1: Sunday, October 29
Round 2: Friday, November 3
Round 3: Wednesday, November 8
Round 4: Sunday, November 12
Championship #1: Saturday, November 18
Championship #2: Friday, November 24
Championship #3*: Wednesday, November 29
Championship #4*: Sunday, December 3
Championship #5*: Friday, December 8
Championship #6*: Wednesday, December 13
Championship #7*: Sunday, December 17
Championship #8*: Saturday, December 23
Championship #9: Friday, December 29
                                   
 *Championships 3-9 will only happen if necessary, until a single dog wins a second finals race

What's Happening Now

See All Events & Promotions
Love Southland?
We'd love to hear it! Take our brief survey about your experience.
Start Survey
Enter survey code: 126044